‘It was one of the most degrading things I’ve ever done’: Miley Cyrus’ back-up dancer reveals she was left ‘shaking and crying’ after controversial VMA performance

Quick question: who held a gun to her head and made her do it?

__________________________________________________________________

By  Daily Mail Reporter

Whether she was stripping to her underwear or  twerking with giant teddy bears, Miley Cyrus left many in shock after her  performance at the VMA’s in August.

But it seems no one was more shocked than one  of her very own back-up dancers.

Los Angeles-based performer Hollis Jane, who  refers to herself as a little person, revealed on her blog: ‘I was  a bear in Miley Cyrus’ VMA performance and. . . for the first time I felt truly  ashamed of being a little person.

Los Angeles-based performer Hollis Jane, who refers to herself as a little person, revealed on her blog: 'I was a bear in Miley Cyrus¿ VMA performance and. . . for the first time I felt truly ashamed of being a little personLos Angeles-based performer Hollis Jane, who refers to  herself as a little person, revealed on her blog: ‘I was a bear in Miley Cyrus¿  VMA performance and. . . for the first time I felt truly ashamed of being a  little person

 

‘I will be the first one to tell you that standing on that stage, in that costume was one of the most degrading  things I  felt like I could ever do,’ she said, singling out another offense to add to Miss Cyrus’  recent controversies —  one based on size.

Miss Jane, who has been attempting to be a  professional actress for the past three years, said that when she was asked to  audition for the signer’s tour, she was ‘incredibly hesitant’.

‘The money was great and I would have gotten  a free trip to Las Vegas,’ she admitted. ‘My computer had recently broken and my  car needed (and still needs) multiple repairs. I could have fixed a lot of that  with the Miley money. So, I sent in my audition tape.’

But it was only after she was accepted for  the job that she realized she was going  to be put into a bear costume.

 Miley Cyrus‘When I did the VMAs. . . we were being used simply  because we were little,’ she said. ‘It felt like society still saw us as a joke,  despite the fact there is nothing different about me other than the fact I am  small’

'I will be the first one to tell you that standing on that stage, in that costume was one of the most degrading things I felt like I could ever do,' she said, singling out another offense to add to Miss Cyrus' recent controversies -- one based on size‘Standing on that stage, in that costume was one of the  most degrading things I felt like I could ever do,’ she said, singling out  another offense to add to Miss Cyrus’ recent controversies — one based on  size

‘I had never been in a performance where I  was purely meant to be gawked or laughed at. I will never forget that  performance because it is what forced me to draw my personal line in the sand,’  she said.

‘After  our first dress rehearsal in the  costumes with the crew, publicists, performers  etc watching us, I walked out of the Barclay Center shaking and crying.

‘I love being the center  of attention, but  that was something different. I was being stared and  laughed at for all of the  wrong reasons. I was being looked at as a  prop…as something less than  human.’

Whether she was stripping to her underwear or twerking with giant teddy bears, Miley Cyrus left many in shock after her performance at the VMA's in AugustWhether she was stripping to her underwear or twerking  with giant teddy bears, Miley Cyrus left many in shock after her performance at  the VMA’s in August

  

Culled from dailymail.co.uk

Leave a Reply

