Former New York-Presbyterian Doctor Sued by Patients for Performing Oral Sex on Them During Routine Check Ups

This story reminds me of a similar incident right here in Nigeria. It happened when I took a close friend to visit a certain gynaecologist for routine female issues. He said she needed to be checked and took her to another room to do a swab on her (this usually involves inserting some instruments into the vagina to get some body fluids which are then tested for infection).

I noticed she was rather quiet as we left the doctor’s office and was compelled to ask what was wrong. She then complained that the doctor had ‘fingered’ her. I was a little taken aback and asked if she was sure. She gave me an annoyed look and told me she had  done a similar test before and what this man had done to her went over and beyond the call of duty for a doctor.

She said at first she was frozen stiff when he started because she was trying to convince herself nothing was wrong and he was just doing his job but she said she noticed he was perspiring, breathing heavily and had a hard on to boot.

Filled with shame (afterall I took her to the doctor), I wanted to go back and confront the man but I knew it would be a he said, she said matter with no way of proving wrong doing and on that note we had to let it go.

I find the story below a trifle sketchy and wish they had provided more details. Was the doctor’s DNA found on the suspects? Is he being sued just because they said this happened?

I am not suggesting by any stretch of the imagination that the women in this story are lying, after all it happened to someone I know and I believed her completely (I could not think of any reason why she would lie against someone she was meeting for the first time) but these types of assault can be pretty difficult to prove. I am also not suggesting that male gynecologists are ordinarily sexual predators but this one was and the one in the story below is too.

The difference here is that one of them is about to get his comeuppance.

__________________________________________________________

Two women identified only by their initials filed suit against Dr. Robert Hadden, who they said performed oral sex on them when they were patients who visited his gynecology office.

BY AND / NEW YORK DAILY NEWS

Gynecologist Dr. Robert Hadden has been accused of sexually assaulting two of his former patients.
BARRY WILLIAMS FOR NEW YORK DAILY NEWS

Gynecologist Dr. Robert Hadden has been accused of sexually assaulting two of his former patients.

A former New York-Presbyterian/Columbia Hospital doctor sexually assaulted two former patients in his gynecology office in 2012, claims a lawsuit filed Monday in Manhattan Supreme Court.

The two female plaintiffs were identified only by their initials — L.K. and A.Y. Their attorney, Anthony Donofrio, said Dr. Robert Hadden of Tenafly, N.J., performed oral sex on both young women, and one reported the incident to police last June.

 

The alleged abuse took place at Hadden’s office when he was a doctor at New York-Presbyterian/Columbia Hospital.
RICHARD HARBUS FOR NEW YORK DAILY NEWS
The alleged abuse took place at Hadden’s office when he was a doctor at New York-Presbyterian/Columbia Hospital.

 

Police sources confirmed that they had a report about a June 29 sexual assault involving Hadden, and that he was taken into custody the following day, but the record was sealed.

Hadden stopped seeing patients in his Fort Washington Ave. office in September. He did not return calls to his home.

Hospital spokeswoman Myrna Manners said Columbia and the hospital “take allegations of this nature very seriously” but she declined to comment further on pending litigation.

rparascandola@nydailynews.com and bross@nydailynews.com

 

2 thoughts on “Former New York-Presbyterian Doctor Sued by Patients for Performing Oral Sex on Them During Routine Check Ups

  1. I have been Dr. Hadden’s patient for many years. I strongly believe the allegations against him are false!!! There’s NO WAY in hell he’d ever do something like this!!! Dr. Hadden has a tremendous amount of knowledge, compassion, and integrity. I think the accusers just wanted money!!! What easier way to rake it in than to accuse a man who actually worked and has built a prestigious name for himself? And why would he risk his job? There’s always someone in there with him, too! This story is ludicrous. I believe he is absolutely innocent!!!!

  2. I have been a pt.of Dr.Haddens since 2002. I love him and he is so full of compassion. We had talks while I was waiting for results in his office. There was always a young lady in the room with us that assisted him. I was supposed to have a annual last year and I was told he was on medical leave so I decided to wait until he returns. I read all this in the newspaper today. I need proof. This is just not the Dr.Robert Hadden that I know and respect.

Leave a Reply

